A Life In Progress

Wash Me January 28, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — jdalsin @ 2:01 pm

Awhile ago I told you all about my love for the laundry detergent called ECOS.  Well, I’ve found something just as good and very very cheap.

For those of you who buy ECOS for about $18/6L, approx. 100 washes- imagine doing the same amount of laundry for $1.50. 

All you need is:

1/3 cup washing soda

1/3 cup Borax

1/2 sunlight laundry bar

6 L of water

Grate 1/2 of a sunlight laundry bar into 1 L of boiling water.  Stir until no lumps remain.  Remove from heat.  Stir in washing soda and Borax.  Mix until well combined.  Add remaining 5 L of water.  Mix well. 

Add 1/4 c. of this to each wash load.  

Once my ECOS bottle was empty, I just reused it to hold this new washing liquid.  Works great!

 

All these ingredients will cost approx. $10-$12 total but you should easily be able to make 4 jugs of detergent. 

 

Let me know if you try it and what you think!

Thanks to my mom for sharing this recipe she found with me.

 

8 Responses to “Wash Me”

  1. Jen Says:

    Thanks for this great recipe. I have been reading this blog for a while and really like the ideas ( I also have 2 girls close in age to yours!) Just wondering where you get the sunlight laundry bar and washing soda, I can’t think where I have seen these before. Thanks!

  2. jdalsin Says:

    Thanks!

    Washing soda and the sunlight bar can be found at grocery stores/Wal-Marts/etc. They are right where the Borax usually is in the detergent aisle.

  3. Michelle Says:

    I’ll bet you could make more like 30 jugs with the borax and washing soda. You’d just need a few more sunlight bars.

  4. Wandi Says:

    Great idea girl. You’re amazing. Your mom too. I’m all for saving money and I’m sure it’s better on your clothes than most detergents that have so much filler in them. No wonder most of the laundry products make my skin itch. I’ll have to see how this does. The only question I have is how long does it last (shelf life) cuz I only do a couple loads a week since it’s just me? I suppose I could cut the recipe down to suit me though.

  5. Miriam Says:

    I just bought some ECOS at Costco! I like it so far, but I’m all for a good deal. Do you have a top load washer or front load washer?
    Thanks!

  6. jdalsin Says:

    I have a regular top load washer.

  7. Maggie Says:

    I finally made this laundry detergent today after wanting to try it for months. Just one question: After it sat for a while the detergent seemed to solidify somewhat, turning into a very thick gel like substance. Is this normal or did I make it wrong?

  8. jdalsin Says:

    That same thing happened to my mom and she just scooped it out, let the washer start agitating and then added the clothes. She found that she needed to add a bit more water – maybe an extra L?


Leave a Reply

