A Life In Progress

The Essentials November 2, 2008

Filed under: Around the House,Natural Health — jdalsin @ 7:46 pm

I’m still here.  I am.  Just busy as heck.

Not only busy but feeling like I’m lacking on topics to blog about.  Until tonight at supper that is.

We were eating and my 3 year old daughter, Abby, started talking about her bath that would follow dinner that she shares with her 1 year old baby sister each night. 

“Hmm… which oil drops should I have in my bath tonight?  Maybe eucalyptus since we have runny noses.  Or maybe lavender so we can relax.  Or, Mom, what’s that one for headaches again?”

“It starts with a ‘P'” I prompted.

“P.  P-p-PEPPERMINT.” 

In the end she chose to have a few drops of essential oil of lavender in her bath water.  One of my favorites too.

I think essential oils are some of the world’s best kept secrets.  Nothing cures a headache for me better than some peppermint oil on my temples, nothing makes a bath feel as relaxing as adding a few drops of lavender and the girls always benefit from a bath with eucalyptus oil when they are sick.  Or a drop or two somewhere in their beds to keep their noses clear at night.

I don’t know a whole lot about essential oils, besides the ones I have.  I’d love to own more since I know that so many of them are theraputic, some are great to use as perfume (since I don’t wear commercially made perfumes anymore) and some are good to keep in the first aid kit, like Tea Tree oil.

If anyone is interested in learning more about the oils, finding out what each type of oil can be used for, etc.  this website might be a good place to start:

http://www.aromaweb.com/essentialoils/default.asp

 

You can mix and match them and make really nice combinations for perfume, to use around your home or theraputically.  Bergamot is a very popular one for emotional well being and another one that I’d like to own.

Some of them can be quite pricey to buy, such as oil of oregano, but since they are so concentrated, a drop or two can really go a long way.

 

8 Responses to “The Essentials”

  1. Robyn Says:

    I love essential oils! I’ve used them a lot 🙂

  2. Michelle Says:

    Finally an update! Woo hoo! Yes, I use all of those same essential oils. My favorite is Lavender as well. I know some you cannot use on your skin though so be careful. My assortment contains lavender, tea tree, eucalyptus and peppermint too. I also have pine and a few others but have no application for them Oh well.

  3. Susie Says:

    I love essential oils too. We make our own bath salts and bath bombs with them too. One thing I miss about BC is the store SAGE. They had a ton of great ones and really affordable, so I thought. My favorite one being Goddess. Great post Jen!

  4. Amanda Brown Says:

    My favourite essential oil is Febreeze.

  5. Mrs. Wilson Says:

    I laughed out loud at Amanda’s comment, bah!

    It’s amazing to me how much Abby retains. She seems like a very intelligent little girl. It honestly amazes me.

    I think I may have to invest in some oils!

  6. Kaili Says:

    Oh oil of oregano, how I loathe thee! Seriously it has scarred me for life! I love bergamot! Love it!

  7. Tanya Says:

    My mom also uses oils all the time. Her favourite is one called Thieves. Peppermint oil is really good in boiled water. It makes a great alternate cold weather drink. It is also really good in hot chocolate.

  8. anewgreenleaf Says:

    i recently got a bottle of tea tree oil, and combined it with olive oil to make a very effective diaper rash ointment for my daughter. once the rash (which was yeast based) was under control, aveeno baby rash cream was used to treat the redness. gone! hasn’t been back since. i actually had a pediatric dermatologist laugh outloud at me when i told her what i was using for treatment. “baloney” i believe was her actual word. after she laughed, she gave me a prescription for some chemical to smear on ella’s bum…the prescription never saw the lights of a pharmacy. 🙂


Leave a Reply

