A Life In Progress

The Bod August 28, 2008

Filed under: Weight Loss — jdalsin @ 9:58 am

Ugh.

Scales lie.

They must.

Why do I weigh less than I have since even before we got married yet have more lovehandles and rolls than I can ever remember having?

I’m sick to death of trying to lose weight.  It doesn’t help that my husband Jordan said he’d rather me eat nachos and ice cream with him every night than have me be thinner than I am now. And so he makes nachos and buys me ice cream and really? Who could resist a gift, especially when it’s sitting right in front of you?

So, I’ve mentioned before that I want to lose 10 more lbs. but really have no interest in dieting.  I like to eat, I like to eat what I want, I like to eat whatever quantity I want and yes, I even like to eat when I’m not hungry. You don’t need to be hungry to enjoy a chocolate bar or potato skins.  You just don’t.

That leaves me with the option of exercising.  And so I have been! Yay me.

Oh, I guess I should preface by saying I quit running.  My knees hated it.  My girls hated it. The end of that tiny little chapter in my life. 

I just finished an 8 week yoga class that I really enjoyed, I’ve been walking with the girls a lot over the summer, I’ve been trying to be more active in general- less sitting on the couch, more playing with the girls- that kind of thing.

Since my yoga class ended I’ve decided to put to use the recumbent exercise bike my grandma gave me a few week ago.  It’s practically new, it’s so quiet and has a lot of features that I’m enjoying.  For example, it’s so quiet that yesterday I watched a rerun of Desperate Housewives while I bike 10 km in 28 minutes burning 150 calories.  I’m a stat person and those numbers keep me going. I plan on doing it 3-4x a week and hope that things like that will help me drop the last of these unwanted desperately clingy pounds.

I am also hoping to sign up for another more challenging yoga class starting in September. It’s Hot Yoga and I think I’m going to love it.  The class I just finished taking helped me grow leaps and bounds in terms of flexiblity. Wow! I’m looking forward to this next class to hopefully improve on that and also gain some strength, something I am sorely missing.

So there’s an update.  Not an exciting one but I thought I’d better post something on this poor neglected blog.

Anyone done Hot Yoga before? Thoughts?

 

4 Responses to “The Bod”

  1. MIchelle Says:

    I have not. I cannot think of anything worse than that. But you know me, I would rather live in Alaska than in Florida. It would be perfect for you though. You and Jordan and Jill for that matter. All of you sit huddled in blankets on the sofa when you come visit my house.

  2. MIchelle Says:

    PS Don’t you dare spend your life hating your body Jen. I think I have done that enough for the both of us. Total total waste of time and energy.

  3. L.C. Says:

    Hot Yoga is AMAZING!!!!! So relaxing, and a great workout…. you sweat tons though and need a lot of water during!! Have fun!!!!

  4. Amanda Brown Says:

    You look amazing, Jen, and love handles are there for a reason, no? 🙂
    I’ve never done any yoga and my exercise of choice has always been plain and simple walking. Not that I’ve even remotely thought of exercising for the past 9 months. I’ll pay for it when my pre-pregnancy jeans can’t be yanked up past my knees.


Leave a Reply

