A Life In Progress

Where We Are At May 16, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — jdalsin @ 1:56 pm

Before I dive back into posting about other topics, I thought I’d give a little recap of what we’ve been up to and the changes we’ve made and un-made.

 

The biggest of all is we’ve decided to encorporate some meat back into our diet. After a naturopath I trust very much suggested we look into organic, locally raised meats, we decided to give it a whirl.  I haven’t actually bought or cooked any meat yet but am instead just in the process of finding some local farmers willing to sell to us.  We’ve ate meat over the weekend though at my mom’s place.  Something I’m finding will definitely need to be eased back into.  I had a hard time eating my chicken breast without crazy images and starting facts racing through my mind. Jordan … not so much.  He devoured his.  I can honestly say I didn’t miss eating meat, just the convenience of it.  But we’ll see how this goes as we venture back into it.

 

We’ve been completely slacking on the cloth diapering too.  Josie was pretty much incapable of moving in her prefolds so we switched her to Seventh Generation Diapers during the day and cloth at night. That was working well for a few months.  Jordan is the one who does the girl’s bedtime routine.  It’s his only time with the girls in the day and I think all three of them enjoy it.  So, pretty much, he was doing all the cloth diapering before he put Josie to bed.  I went to go wash the cloth diapers from the previous few nights only to find that the diaper pail was empty.  When I confronted him about it, he shrugged and said “I hate cloth diapers.”

 

I feel like we are sliding a lot and want to put an end to that.  I’m o.k. with easing up on some of the changes we made because truthfully some of them were exhausting and overwhelming. We will continue to eat well and carry on with the other changes we’ve made.

 

I’ll be back some time in the next week with that parenting post I promised. 

 

4 Responses to “Where We Are At”

  1. mybloggylife Says:

    My J hates cloth diapers, too, and refuses to use them. Therefore, it leaves me with diaper duty… which is an interesting debate, at times.

  2. Michelle Says:

    Changes are exhausting. I agree with you there. Slow but sure wins the race.

  3. Michelle Says:

    Changes are exhausting. I agree with you there. Slow but sure wins the race.

  4. Lisa Says:

    I’m sure you’re still ahead of the game compared to most people and should be admired for it. And good for you for giving cloth diapers a go. At least you tried. That’s more than I can say about myself, or my sister…


Leave a Reply

