A Life In Progress

This is the road that never ends March 3, 2008

Filed under: Going Green,Healthy Eating,Me,Natural Health — jdalsin @ 2:36 pm

sigh …

 I write today feeling a little bit defeated.

If you’ve been following this blog at all you know that I’ve been trying to make some changes around our house, with our health, our diets, becoming more environmentally conscious, etc.

I picked up a book from the library called Ecoholic.  It is so full of information.  After I read it my head is full of information.  Too much information.  So much information that I know that I’ll never be able to do it all.  Make the house as healthy as I would like.  Buy clothes that are made from organic materials and made by people getting paid decent wages.  Eat food that has been grown locally and without pesticides.  Ensure that my kids’ toys don’t contain PVC or lead paint.  That the wood we use to build a new deck isn’t destroying some ecosystem. That the soap I wash my body with isn’t full of chemicals that have proven links to cancer. 

So much to know. So much to do.  Where does one draw the line? Am I doing enough? Not enough? 

I wish there was a big store you could go to where in everything was safe and healthy to purchase.  Wouldn’t that be nice?

Really though- this book is FANTASTIC. It’s also Canadian so it will speak of brands and stores you’ve heard of, list internet sites where you can order great products that will actually ship to Canada and so on.  I want to own it!

http://www.amazon.ca/Ecoholic-Environmentally-Friendly-Information-Products/dp/0679314849/ref=pd_bbs_sr_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1204575497&sr=8-1

But be warned. You will be overwhelmed.

 

5 Responses to “This is the road that never ends”

  1. Michelle Says:

    Uh oh. I have it waiting for me at the library.

  2. Miriam Says:

    I wish there was a store like that too… it seems so time consuming and well, difficult, to find all the safe stuff. I will have to check out that book… I will probably be overwhelmed by it too. Just from what I’ve read, I’m so impressed with all that you have done so far! I had some great advice once and you can relate it to many things… “just do something… the worst you can do is nothing”… You’re doing alot of “somethings”!!!

  3. Tannis Says:

    I’m in a similar space and I agree with Miriam, at least we’re doing “somethings”. When it feels like too much I try to boil it down to simplifying. As long as I buy less “stuff” overall and simpler forms of food it’s still having a net positive effect.

    I think if I read that book right now it just might put me over the edge. Maybe if I put a hold on it now I’ll get it in a month or two.

  4. Kaili Says:

    I total agree with everyone on having a store that was a one stop shop for all things healthy. I mean truly health, not deemed “healthy” or “natural” for marketing purposes.
    BUT I am EXTREMELY grateful that we have it the way we do. Robin and I traveled to the states years ago. We were in New Jersey. Holy crap. Good luck even finding a vegetable! Let alone an organic one.
    When we were at the grocery store the vegetables (which section was real small) looked too perfect. Most of the store was frozen aisles!!! We were in shock! It was really hard on our bodies while there. We even searched out a health food store. There was only ONE in that area. ONE! And when we drove 30 minutes to get there, it was crappy!

    So as much as it would be great to have it be more conveniant (sp?) we have it pretty awesome! At least we can shop around in different stores that carry what we want for our family, and have options. LOTS of people don’t.

  5. wandi Says:

    One step at a time. Don’t be stressed. At least you are doing something. Master one thing and then move on to the next. It’s all good.


Leave a Reply

