A Life In Progress

Veggin’ Out February 13, 2008

Filed under: Healthy Eating — jdalsin @ 1:02 pm

Jordan and I have been talking about becoming vegetarian.  I’ve been a little grossed out by meat lately. Mainly ground beef.

We started talking about if we would want to become vegetarians.

We then decided we’d for sure still eat fish and seafood.

And M & M’s Boneless Skinless Chicken Breasts.

And neither of us know if we’d be able to endure a summer sans bbq’ed cheeseburgers. 

Or the odd steak.

So, we aren’t going to be vegetarians.

What we are going to do is try to eat a lot more vegetarian meals.  Right now we probably have 2 or 3 vegetarian suppers a month.  We’d like to boost that to 10 and then go from there.  And we’ll probably still steer clear of the ground beef.  Not that we’d reject it if we were served it at someone’s house for dinner, just that we won’t be tossing it in our own shopping cart for awhile.  😉

So, does anyone have any magnificient vegetarian recipes?  Suggestions of cookbooks that might have some simple, delicious meal ideas?

 

7 Responses to “Veggin’ Out”

  1. Michelle Says:

    I would just look on the internet. That is where I get most of my recipes. Another thing is to go to the library website and search for vegetarian cooking and see what the newest books are.

  2. Lisa Says:

    I have a cookbook called rebar, modern food cookbook, and it’s from a restaurant, rebar, in Victoria.

    I didn’t eat beef for seven years, right when I moved to Alberta. Great timing, eh? Then I married a man who owned (at the time) cattle. I still didn’t eat beef, but when I got pregnant, I started to eat the odd steak. But ground beef? No thanks.

    I like the way you’ve put a number with your goal, instead of just saying let’s have more veg dinners. Ten sounds like a good start.

  3. mybloggylife Says:

    I have a GREAT rece for Mushroom Moussakka.
    I’ll try to scan it for you.

  4. erin Says:

    ooh…i have lots. i’ll put them on my blog.

    soon.

  5. Mike C Says:

    Oh man, I was so close to having some new veggie friends! Oh well, I still love all of you, even if you eat the meat. The best veggie/vegan books are “How it all Vegan” and “The Garden of Vegan” and “La Dolce Vegan (sp?)”. The first two were written by krammer and Barnard, and the third was just by krammer. I bet you could easily find it on line, or maybe at Old Fashioned Foods? The recipes are usually quick, simple, and do not require to many trips to the asian supermarket to find items you have never heard of before.

    I’ll have to send you my “peanut butter pasta”, (sounds odd, but it’s basically just a spicy peanut sauce). I also might have 1 or 2 others around if you are interested 🙂

    Mike C

  6. Amanda Says:

    I could very easily go veggie myself since I don’t like meat very much to begin with (aside from buffalo chicken tenders and cheeseburgers).
    One really easy veggie meal to make is this:

    Mash up one can of drained kidney beans (I just an immersion blender so it’s nice and smooth) and add 1/2 cup salsa. Spread the bean paste on a tortilla and add cheese, sour cream, cilantro, peppers, onions, etc and then either grill on a panini press or in a frying pan till it’s all melty and delicious. It’s really cheap and easy and yummy! Avelyn loves it and her entire body is covered in bean paste by the end of the meal.

  7. erin Says:

    good job!

    we haven’t had a microwave since we moved into our new new house…we’ve been using a toaster oven instead.

    and i have heaps of vegetarian dishes. someday i’ll post them for you…someday;)


Leave a Reply

