A Life In Progress

Energy January 16, 2008

Filed under: Me,Natural Health — jdalsin @ 10:12 am

I feel like a slug.

Not just today but everyday for the past six or so years.  Nothing to do with having a baby and a toddler, although I’m sure that doesn’t help the energy levels either.

I can’t remember one day in the past six or so years waking up and feeling refreshed. Nor do I remember a single day where I felt like I had enough energy to do the things I wanted to do.  I’m not a lazy person.  I want to do things. I feel motivated to do things.  But the thought of doing them sometimes makes me want to bawl.  Simple tasks are waiting for me, like organizing the linen closet.  It would probably take an hour but I’ve been putting it off for weeks.  Every time I go to do it, I open the door, close it again and think “I just can’t do it today.”  Not “I don’t want to do this today” but actually physically feel like I’d either need a nap first or a long nap afterwards.

I’m finally trying to do something about it.  I’m taking a high potency Vitamin B complex supplement and faithfully taking my iron.  I really hope to be feeling/seeing some results soon.  It is really very hard to not have the energy to do the things you want to do, like run and play with Abby, get organized or even make it through the day without feeling exhausted.

I fall asleep within about 2 minutes of hitting the pillow each night.  Not only that, but I can fall asleep anywhere, any time.  I’ve fallen asleep at the movie theater, in the car, nursing, sitting up reading in the middle of the afternoon.

I feel like I could have such a better quality of life if I just had the energy.  This is something I defintiely want to work on this year.  Six years is too long to feel tired.

Here’s to hoping that in 2008 I get the energy to live the life I want.

 

3 Responses to “Energy”

  1. Robyn Says:

    Have you considered you may have depression or anxiety?

  2. Stacey Says:

    I read your blog regularly and enjoy watching your family grow. I don’t doubt that you are tired, with all of the effort you put into enriching your children’s lives by getting down on the floor and playing or whatever that day happens to bring. I don’t have any kids but work in the weird hours and weird energy of theatre, and I feel tired too. I though maybe I was dehydrated so I drank more water. Now I am just tired and have to pee all the time. I have started taking a multi-vitamin every day (instead of whenever I remember) and hope to see a difference. I look forward to seeing if the vitamin B complex and iron helps you.

  3. Kaili Says:

    Since going to the blood dude, and chaning our diet, and supplements, it’s been a 360 of how I use to feel. How you discribe yourself is very close to what I felt daily. Now I feel awesome! I really do. I have energy and get a lot more done. Good luck!


Leave a Reply

