A Life In Progress

You Are What You Eat January 7, 2008

Filed under: Healthy Eating,Weight Loss — jdalsin @ 9:16 am

This is a big one.

 For awhile now I’ve been buying organic foods when they are available and when it’s affordable.  We don’t have that wide of a selection on most things but I’ve been able to buy a lot of organic produce, coffees for Jordan and some snack foods, like my current craze of Organics Stone Wheat Crackers with Anise and Fennel.  Yum!  We try to buy organic to avoid the pesticides, hormones and other unknowns.  We contemplated starting to buy organic dairy products but after some research learned that there are laws in Canada so no cows are fed the hormones that are often fed to cows in the U.S. 

I love to buy locally but in the middle of the prairies there really isn’t much even grown locally.   In the summer I try to make it to the Farmer’s Market as often as I can on Saturday mornings.

Another important step for us this year is to try to eat more whole foods and more raw foods.  More fruits and veggies, seeds and nuts.  So far so good on that front!  I love fruit so it’s never a chore to have to incorporate them into my diet.

I’ve also been working on teaching Abby, 3 years old, about what is healthy for her body and provides her with energy and what should most often be skipped.  She’s starting to get it.  By example, we want to teach her healthy eating habits for life.  Of course, treats are allowed but we definitely want to cut back on how often. 

In a typical week, we usually ate out atleast 1-2 times, usually fast food.  We’ve challenged ourselves to go without fast food for 3 months.  To clarify, fast food does not include pizza or subs, things that can have health benefits when ordered properly.  We are more talking about no McDonalds, Burger King and the like.  We’ve gone 7 days so far which is pretty darn good for us!  Possibly longer, I can’t remember when we last had fast food last year but we’ve been ‘clean’ this year so far.  We’ve also limited our eating out to 3-4 times a month. Should help the waistline and the budget!

Speaking of waistline- I did weigh in this morning and dropped one pound since Wednesday.  I’ve officially started Weight Watchers today so I expect some better progress next week.

 

3 Responses to “You Are What You Eat”

  1. Michelle Says:

    Ah, McDonald’s fries. The bane of my existence! That is a good idea though, no fast food. You’ll save lots of money to buy nice organic veg.

  2. Kaili Says:

    We aren’t eating any fruits really(cause all the darn sugar), just berries. I have lost a shwack of weight, I don’t weigh myself most of the time, just cause I go by what I feel inside, but I know I have lost weght, cause lots of my stuff doesn’t fit and my boobs are shrinking. Haha!
    Since we have changed our diet we haven’t had any fast food, anything fried, treats or baked goods. So that helps towards weight lose.
    Jen, I really think you would LOVE going to the dude we went to to get our blood checked. Shalane is working at his office now and is so inspired to change also, now that she has had her blood done. Plus Mom and Al have gone. If you could handle dishing out the cash (it’s pretty expensize) then you would LOVE it!!! I know you would. It answers EVERYTHING!

    Also we get free range eggs, so much better!

  3. have you been to the organic store in Regina??? If you want, I can get you the address, I just can’t remember at the moment.


Leave a Reply

